Kansas school districts report $18 million saved through association energy program amid extreme winter gas spikes

Since enrolling with WoodRiver Energy in October 2021, the Kansas Association of School Boards’ Energy Management Program has reported $18 million in combined savings versus local utility prices, a figure the companies say held up through four major winter gas-price spikes, including a January 2026 high of $40.46 per dekatherm.

By Where Should I Learn Editorial ·

A nationwide surge in wholesale natural gas prices over recent years has put pressure on school operating budgets; in Kansas, a state association and a private energy manager say a collaborative purchasing program has delivered substantial savings to participating districts. According to a joint announcement from WoodRiver Energy and the Kansas Association of School Boards (KASB), districts enrolled in the KASB Energy Management Program since October 2021 have realized a combined $18 million in savings compared with what those districts would have paid at their local utility prices.

The claimed savings are reported to have persisted through unusually volatile winter markets. The WoodRiver-KASB statement lists four winter events that drove local gas prices sharply higher: Winter Storm Elliott in 2022, Winter Storm Finn in 2024, Winter Storm Blair in 2025, and Winter Storm Fern in January 2026. The release highlights the January 2026 price surge, reporting a local natural gas price of $40.46 per dekatherm—more than ten times the typical regional range of $3 to $4 per dekatherm.

The KASB Energy Management Program is presented in the announcement as a pooled approach that enrolled districts with WoodRiver Energy beginning in October 2021. The release frames the partnership as a hedge against market spikes, saying participating districts were 'shielded' during the named weather events. The dollar figure provided—$18 million—is a combined total comparing program participants’ costs to the local utility prices each district would otherwise have faced, per the announcement.

School districts nationwide commonly face difficult trade-offs when energy prices jump: heating, electricity and transportation bills come out of operating budgets that also pay for staffing, supplies and student services. Even when a specific program’s mechanics are not disclosed in public materials, a multi-million-dollar savings claim is significant because it suggests available funds that districts might reallocate to classrooms or reserves.

However, the announcement leaves several key questions unanswered for readers trying to assess the scale and mechanics of the reported savings. The release does not specify how many districts participated, how long the savings are measured, whether the $18 million is net of fees and administrative costs, or the exact comparison methodology used against local utility rates. Without a per-district breakdown or contract terms, it is not possible from the released material to gauge the average or median benefit for an individual district.

That lack of granular detail matters for policymakers and school boards weighing similar procurement options. Different risk-management strategies—fixed-price contracts, indexed supply agreements, or financial hedges—carry distinct cost profiles and risks. The announcement does not identify which of those approaches, if any, are used in the KASB program, so readers should view the aggregate savings figure as a reported outcome rather than a fully documented audit.

The timing cited in the release underscores why some districts pursue pooled purchasing or third-party management. Enrollment in October 2021 placed participating districts in the program before the subsequent sequence of cold-weather events that sent spot-market prices to extreme levels. In markets where spot prices can swing tenfold during extreme weather, stable supply arrangements or hedging strategies can materially reduce budget volatility; the release asserts that was the effect here for participating Kansas districts.

Associations that run cooperative procurement programs often argue that collective scale, competitive contracting and dedicated management deliver better prices and lower risk than individual districts negotiating one-off contracts. The announcement frames the KASB program in that light, positioning the partnership with WoodRiver Energy as a way for school systems to access specialized energy-management services without each district building that capacity internally.

At the same time, transparency about contract lengths, termination provisions, and how savings are calculated is important for public accountability when taxpayer funds are at stake. The released statement does not include those documents or a detailed methodology, and it does not provide a per-district accounting of the $18 million figure. Those omissions leave room for follow-up reporting that could clarify how the program operates in practice and how savings are distributed among participants.

The Kansas announcement highlights a broader trend: school districts and their associations are increasingly attentive to energy procurement as a controllable operational cost. The materials released by WoodRiver Energy and KASB offer a snapshot—a reported $18 million in cumulative savings tied to a program that began enrolling members in October 2021 and that, according to the release, weathered four major winter price shocks. For school officials and taxpayers evaluating similar arrangements, the headline dollar figure is noteworthy, but the underlying contract terms and accounting details are the next important piece of information needed to fully assess the program’s long-term value.

All articles